Cross Party Group



Cross-party Group on Universities


The Cross-Party Group on Universities’ primary objective is to enable dialogue between Assembly Members, Vice-Chancellors of the universities in Wales and other relevant stakeholders. The group will provide a forum to examine issues affecting the university sector and research, which may influence public policy, while crucially also exploring opportunities for them to continue making a vital contribution to our nation’s future development and well-being.




Chair: Hefin David


Secretary: Kieron Rees, Universities Wales


Next meeting









Cross-Party Group Documentation:


Minutes of previous meetings


Annual Reports and Financial Statements




Contact information

Kieron Rees

Universities Wales
2 Caspian Point
CF10 4DQ

Phone: 029 2044 8025


  • Hefin David MS
  • Michelle Brown MS
  • Jayne Bryant MS
  • Llyr Gruffydd MS
  • Siân Gwenllian MS
  • Mike Hedges MS
  • Vikki Howells MS
  • Dai Lloyd MS
  • Darren Millar MS
  • David Rees MS
  • Professor Richard Davies - Vice Chancellor, Swansea University
  • Professor John Hughes - Vice-Chancellor, Bangor University
  • Professor Medwin Hughes - Vice-Chancellor, University of Wales Trinity Saint David
  • Professor Julie Lydon - Vice-Chancellor, University of South Wales
  • Professor Colin Riordan - Vice-Chancellor, Cardiff University
  • Amanda Wilkinson - Director, Universities Wales
  • Professor Cara Carmichael Aitchison - Vice-Chancellor, Cardiff Metropolitan University
  • Professor Maria Hinfelaar - Vice-Chancellor, Glyndŵr University
  • Olivia Jones - Political & Public Affairs Policy Adviser, Universities Wales
  • Professor Elizabeth Treasure - Aberystwyth University
  • Louise Casella - Open University in Wales
  • Beth Button - Universities Wales



Partners & Help