Cross Party Group

Intergenerational Solidarity


Cross-party Group on Intergenerational Solidarity




To promote solidarity and understanding between generations, including projects that bring younger and older generations together, and to explore evidence and develop policy proposals that would benefit both younger and older generations. 


To help older and younger generations overcome social isolation and loneliness caused by the Covid19 pandemic.


The most commonly cited definition when referring to intergenerational practice in the field is as follows:

“Intergenerational practice aims to bring people together in purposeful, mutually beneficial activities which promote greater understanding and respect between generations and contributes to building more cohesive communities. Intergenerational practice is inclusive, building on the positive resources that the young and old have to offer each other and those around them”

(Centre for Intergenerational Practice: Beth Johnson Foundation, 2001)





Chair: Delyth Jewell MS





Next meeting


Date: TBC


Time: TBC


Location: TBC



Cross-Party Group Documentation:


Minutes of previous meetings


Annual Reports and Financial Statements



  • Delyth Jewell MS (Chair)
  • Jayne Bryant MS
  • Altaf Hussain MS
  • Mirain Llwyd Roberts - Bridging the Generations Coordinator, Gwynedd Council
  • Dr Philippe Demougin - Hafod
  • Amanda Everson - UnLtd
  • Stephanie Green - ENRICH Cymru National Coordinator & PHD Candidate, Public Health Policy and Social Sciences (Swansea University)
  • Margaret Harris - Hafod
  • Dr Carol Maddock - Centre for Innovative Ageing, Swansea University
  • Dr Deborah Morgan - Swansea University
  • Andy Wallsgrove - Children’s Commissioner for Wales
  • Carys McComb - Grŵp Llandrillo Menai
  • Heléna Herklots - Older People's Commissioner for Wales
  • Dr Catrin Hedd Jones - Bangor University
  • Heather Ferguson - Age Cymru
  • Joe Atkinson - NUS Wales
  • Cerys Jones - Repair Café Wales
  • Dr Liz Jones - Awen Institute
  • Michelle Lewis - Older People’s Commissioner for Wales
  • Stephen Burke - United for All Ages
  • Jacob Elis - Office of the Future Generations Commissioner for Wales
  • Steve Milsom - Welsh Government
  • Pheobe Brown - Repair Café Wales
  • Gino Parisi - Aneurin Bevan University Health Board
  • Laraine Bruce
  • Dereck Roberts - National Pensioners Convention Wales
  • Hawys Roberts - Grŵp Cynefin
  • Tanya Strange - Aneurin Bevan University Health Board
  • Lynda Wallis - Vale 50+ Strategy Forum
  • Dr Katherine Algar-Skaife - Bangor University