Cross Party Group

STEM - Fifth Senedd


Cross-Party Group on STEM




To bring together Members of the Senedd and others with an interest in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) in Wales, with the aim of raising awareness among Members of the Senedd of important developments in STEM, both technological and educational; and how policy issues impact upon these areas.





Chair: David Rees


Secretary:  Niall Sommerville, Royal Society of Chemistry



Next meetings


Date: Monday 8 March 2021


Location: Online (Details will be shared with members)


Time: 18.00 – 19.20


Cross-Party Group Documentation:


Minutes of previous meetings


Annual Reports and Financial Statements


Contact information

Leigh Jeffes
Niall Sommerville

Phone: 07741 731295


  • David Rees MS (Chair)
  • Leigh Jeffes - Royal Society of Chemistry
  • Huw Irranca-Davies MS
  • Dai Lloyd MS
  • David Melding MS
  • Nick Ramsay MS
  • David J Rowlands MS
  • Joyce Watson MS
  • Jack Sargeant MS
  • Cerian Angharad - Association for Science Education
  • Dr Stephen Benn - Society of Biology
  • Bob Cater - Engineering Education Scheme Wales University of Wales Institute
  • Dr Tom Crick - Cardiff Metropolitan University/BCS, the Chartered Institute for IT
  • Dr David Cunnah - Institute of Physics
  • Helen Francis - WJEC
  • David Jones - The Geological Society
  • Keith Jones - Institution of Civil Engineers Wales Cymru
  • Dr Geertje van Keulen - Society for General Microbiology
  • Wendy Sadler - Cardiff University
  • Dr Anita Shaw - Techniquest
  • Professor Keith Smith - Royal Society of Chemistry
  • Elizabeth Terry - British Science Association
  • Professor Ian Wells - Swansea Metropolitan University
  • David Boon - The British Geological Survey
  • Prof Mike Edmunds - Royal Astronomical Society
  • Prof Peter Halligan - Learned Society of Wales
  • Dr Paul Hutchings - British Psychological Society
  • Rob Janes - The Open University
  • David Jones - Geological Society
  • Dr Rhobert Lewis - University of South Wales
  • Prof Faron Moller - Technocamps
  • Rhys Phillips - IET
  • Andy Pugh - Institution of Mechanical Engineering