Finance Committee

This page lists the meetings for: Finance Committee


Information about Finance Committee


<news>The next Senedd election is scheduled for 6 May. All committee activity will cease with effect from 7 April (except very limited activity in relation to urgent subordinate legislation or the provisions of Welsh Elections (Coronavirus) Act 2021). New committees are expected to be established before summer 2021 – information will be published on this website.</news><link></link>

<news>The Committee published its Fifth Senedd Legacy Report on 31 March 2021.</news><link>mgIssueHistoryHome.aspx?IId=15112</link>


Current Work




>>>View meeting transcripts after 1 November 2017<link></link>

>>>View meeting transcripts prior to 31 October 2017<link>mgIssueHistoryHome.aspx?IId=15047</link>



Work Completed by the Committee







Follow us on Twitter: @SeneddFinance<link></link>



The Committee was established on 22 June 2016. The Committee’s remit, amended following a resolution in Plenary on 13 November 2019, is as follows:


>>>to carry out the functions of the responsible committee set out in Standing Orders 18.10, 18.11, 18A.2(iv) and (v), 19 and 20 of the Senedd;

>>>under Standing Orders 19 and 20, the committee’s responsibilities include considering any report or document laid before the Senedd concerning the use of resources, or expenditure from the Welsh Consolidated Fund, including undertaking budget scrutiny of the bodies directly funded from the Welsh Consolidated Fund;

>>>under Standing Orders 18.10 and 18.11, the committee’s responsibilities include oversight of the governance of the Wales Audit Office, as set out in the Public Audit (Wales) Act 2013;

>>>under Standing Order 18A.2(iv) and (v), to exercise budgetary functions in relation to the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales;

>>>the committee also considers any proposals for, and the progress of the devolution of fiscal powers to Wales as part of its responsibilities;

>>>the committee may also scrutinise legislation introduced to the Senedd.