Election of the Deputy Presiding Officer

This page gives details of any meetings held which will, or did, discuss the matter, and includes links to the relevant Papers, Agendas and Minutes.

Note: Meeting Agenda can change at short notice. Particularly where future meeting dates are indicated more than a week in advance. Please check before planning to attend a Committee Meeting that the item you are interested in has not been moved.

Meeting: 11/05/2016 - Plenary - Fifth Senedd (Item 2)

Election of the Deputy Presiding Officer under Standing Order 6


The item started at 14.17.


The Presiding Officer (Elin Jones) invited nominations in accordance with Standing Order 6.6.


David Rees nominated John Griffiths.

Janet Finch-Saunders seconded the nomination.


Joyce Watson nominated Ann Jones.

Angela Burns seconded the nomination.


The Presiding Officer invited the candidates to address the Assembly.


As there were two nominations, a secret ballot took place in accordance with Standing Order 6.8.


The results of the secret ballot were as follows:


John Griffiths

Ann Jones







The Presiding Officer declared Ann Jones elected as Deputy Presiding Officer and invited her to address the Assembly.