Decision details

Motion to allocate committee chairs to political groups

Decision Maker: Business Committee - Fifth Senedd, Plenary - Fifth Senedd

Is Key decision?: Yes


The Establishment and Remits of Committees is governed by Standing Order 16.

View Standing Orders


The item started at 17.28


NDM6056 Elin Jones (Ceredigion)
To propose that the National Assembly for Wales, in accordance with Standing Order 17.2A, agrees that the political groups from which the chairs of committees are elected will be as follows:

  1. Children, Young People and Education Committee - Labour;
  2. Climate Change, Environment and Rural Affairs Committee - UKIP;
  3. Constitutional and Legislative Affairs Committee - Labour;
  4. Culture, Welsh Language and Communications Committee - Plaid Cymru;
  5. Economy, Infrastructure and Skills Committee - Welsh Conservatives;
  6. Equality, Local Government and Communities Committee - Labour;
  7. Finance Committee - Plaid Cymru;
  8. Health, Social Care and Sport Committee - Plaid Cymru;
  9. Petitions Committee - Labour;
  10. Public Accounts Committee - Welsh Conservatives;
  11. Reserve Policy and Legislation Committee - Labour;
  12. Standards of Conduct Committee – Labour.


The motion was agreed in accordance with Standing Order 12.36.

Publication date: 28/06/2016

Date of decision: 28/06/2016

Decided at meeting: 28/06/2016 - Plenary - Fifth Senedd