Election of the Presiding Officer

This page gives details of any meetings held which will, or did, discuss the matter, and includes links to the relevant Papers, Agendas and Minutes.

Note: Meeting Agenda can change at short notice. Particularly where future meeting dates are indicated more than a week in advance. Please check before planning to attend a Committee Meeting that the item you are interested in has not been moved.

Meeting: 11/05/2016 - Plenary - Fifth Senedd (Item 1)

Election of the Presiding Officer under Standing Order 6


The item started at 13.30.


The Presiding Officer (Dame Rosemary Butler) invited nominations in accordance with Standing Order 6.6.


Dai Lloyd nominated Elin Jones.

Jane Hutt seconded the nomination.


Adam Price nominated Dafydd Elis-Thomas.

Neil Hamilton seconded the nomination.


The Presiding Officer invited the candidates to address the Assembly.


As there were two nominations, a secret ballot took place in accordance with Standing Order 6.8.


The results of the secret ballot were as follows:


Elin Jones


Dafydd Elis-Thomas







The Presiding Officer declared Elin Jones elected as Presiding Officer.


Elin Jones took the Chair and addressed the Assembly.