Cynulliad Cenedlaethol Cymru

National Assembly for Wales

Y Pwyllgor Materion Cyfansoddiadol a Deddfwriaethol

Constitutional and Legislative Affairs Committee

Bil Senedd ac Etholiadau (Cymru)


Senedd and Elections (Wales) Bill

CLA(5) SE06

Ymateb gan unigolyn

Evidence from an individual

I am writing to highlight a linguistic convention around the naming of political legislatures. Which would mean that the correct name for a Welsh Parliament would be: Senedd. 

There is a linguistic convention that the name of Parliament is not translated. As the result of this convention schools teach pupils about the Reichstag Fire (1934) rather than the German Parliament Fire. News programmes will refer to Congress rather than the Parliament of the United States of America. And, elections to the Knesset are being conducted today (see date). Other examples are numerous and ubiquitous. Referring to Parliaments by these names is often used as a short hand or to avoid confusion and  lengthy expositional terms.   

This convention is often extended to titles of foreign Government Ministers. For instance, Taoiseach is regularly heard when introducing Mr Leo Varadkar, while Chancellor is synonymous with Ms Angela Merkle. Although, admittedly, this is less prevalent. 

Wales, should embrace this convention and give itself a globally unique name, for a globally unique nation. As such Senedd should be the official, and only, name for the Welsh Parliament.