Concise Minutes - Finance Committee

Meeting Venue:

Committee Room 3 - Senedd

Meeting date: Wednesday, 6 July 2016

Meeting time: 09.30 - 11.50
This meeting can be viewed
on Senedd TV at:




Assembly Members:

Simon Thomas AM (Chair)

Mike Hedges AM

Steffan Lewis AM

Eluned Morgan AM

Nick Ramsay AM

Mark Reckless AM

David Rees AM


Georgina Haarhoff, Welsh Government

Ed Sherriff, Welsh Government

Richard Clarke, Welsh Government

Committee Staff:

Bethan Davies (Clerk)

Gerallt Roberts (Deputy Clerk)

Christian Tipples (Researcher)

Joanest Varney-Jackson (Legal Adviser)



1       Introductions, Apologies and Substitutions

1.1 The Chair welcomed members of the Committee to the meeting.

1.2 The Chair welcomed David Rees AM and Steffan Lewis AM as new members of the Committee.



2       Papers to note

2.1 The papers were noted.



3       Consideration of the financial implications of the Wales Bill

3.1 Members discussed the financial implications of the provisions in the UK Government’s Wales Bill.

3.2 Members considered the Llywydd’s amendments to the Bill and agreed to write to the Constitutional and Legislative Affairs Committee with their view on the Bill.



4       Motion under Standing Order 17.42 to resolve to exclude the public from the remainder of the meeting and from the whole of the meeting on 14 July 2016

4.1 The motion was agreed.



5       Briefing on tax devolution

5.1 Members received a briefing on tax devolution in Wales from: Georgina Haarhoff – Head of Tax Policy and Legislation, Welsh Government, Ed Sherriff – Head of Fiscal Strategy, Welsh Government, and Richard Clarke – Operations Policy Manager, Welsh Government.



6       Welsh Government First Supplementary Budget 2016-17: Consideration of draft report

6.1 Members agreed the draft report with minor changes.



7       Committee responsibilities and early business

7.1 The Committee considered its items of early business, and discussed proposals for future inquiries.