Concise Minutes - Equality, Local Government and Communities Committee

Meeting Venue:

Committee Room 5 - Tŷ Hywel

Meeting date: Thursday, 16 July 2020

Meeting time: 11.02 - 12.54
This meeting can be viewed
on Senedd TV at:





Assembly Members:

John Griffiths MS (Chair)

Dawn Bowden MS

Huw Irranca-Davies MS

Mark Isherwood MS

Delyth Jewell MS


Emlyn Dole, Carmarthenshire County Council

Dr Chris Llewelyn, Welsh Local Government Association

Andrew Morgan, Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council

Peter Fox, Monmouthshire County Council

Cllr Hugh Evans, Independent Group Leader, WLGA

Committee Staff:

Naomi Stocks (Clerk)

Catherine Hunt (Second Clerk)

Yan Thomas (Deputy Clerk)

Osian Bowyer (Researcher)

Stephen Davies (Legal Adviser)



1       Local Government and Elections (Wales) Bill: Order of Consideration - agreement in principle ahead of Stage 2 proceedings

1.1.      The Committee agreed the order of consideration for Stage 2 proceedings of the Bill.



2       Consideration of correspondence from  Audit Wales regarding Section 118 of the Local Government & Elections (Wales) Bill

2.1 The Committee considered the correspondence from Audit Wales on Section 118 of the Local Government and Elections (Wales) Bill.



3       Introductions, apologies, substitutions and declarations of interest

3.1 The Chair welcomed Members of the Equality, Local Government and Communities Committee to the meeting.

3.2 In accordance with Standing Order 34.19, the Chair stated that he had determined that the public were excluded from the Committee’s meeting in order to protect public health.

3.3 The Chair stated that if for any reason he dropped out of the meeting, the Committee agreed that Dawn Bowden MS would become Temporary Chair in accordance with Standing Order 17.22.

3.4 Apologies for absence were received from Caroline Jones MS.



4       Inquiry into Covid-19 and its impact: evidence session on local government

4.1 The Committee received evidence from:

·         Cllr Andrew Morgan, WLGA Leader

·         Cllr Emlyn Dole, WLGA Plaid Cymru Group Leader

·         Cllr Peter Fox, WLGA Conservative Group Leader

·         Cllr Hugh Evans, WLGA Independent Group Leader

·         Chris Llewelyn, Chief Executive, WLGA

4.2 During the meeting, the witnesses agreed:



5       Motion under Standing Order 17.42(ix) to resolve to exclude the public from the remainder of the meeting

5.1 The Committee agreed the Motion.



6       Inquiry into Covid-19 and its impact: consideration of evidence

6.1 The Committee discussed the evidence received under Item 4.





1.          FIELD_TITLE




2.          FIELD_TITLE














2.1          FIELD_TITLE





2.2          FIELD_TITLE