Concise Minutes - External Affairs and Additional Legislation Committee

Meeting Venue:

Video conference via Zoom

Meeting date: Tuesday, 2 June 2020

Meeting time: 09.30 - 10.47
This meeting can be viewed
on Senedd TV at:





Assembly Members:

David Rees MS (Chair)

Alun Davies MS

Huw Irranca-Davies MS

Mandy Jones MS

Dai Lloyd MS

David Melding MS


Jeremy Miles MS, Counsel General and Brexit Minister

Simon Brindle, Welsh Government

Ed Sherriff, Welsh Government

Committee Staff:

Alun Davidson (Clerk)

Claire Fiddes (Deputy Clerk)

Aled Evans (Legal Adviser)

Nia Moss (Researcher)

Rhun Davies (Researcher)



In accordance with Standing Order 34.19, the Chair has determined that the public are excluded from the Committee's meeting in order to protect public health.



1       Introductions, apologies, substitutions and declarations of interest

1.1        The Chair welcomed Members to the meeting.

1.2        Huw Irranca-Davies MS declared an interest as Chair of the European Advisory Group, Chair of the Wales Programme Monitoring Committee, and Chair of the Regional Investment Steering Group.



2       Scrutiny session with the Counsel General and Minister for European Transition

2.1     The Counsel General and Minister for European Transition responded to questions from Members.



3       Motion under Standing Order 17.42(vi) to resolve to exclude the public from the remainder of the meeting.

3.1     The motion was agreed.



4       Scrutiny session with the Counsel General and Minister for European Transition - consideration of evidence

4.1     Members considered the evidence received.



5       House of Lords EU International Agreements Sub-Committee inquiry into how Parliament scrutinises treaties - consideration of draft response

5.1     Members considered and agreed the draft response.





1.          FIELD_TITLE




2.          FIELD_TITLE














2.1          FIELD_TITLE





2.2          FIELD_TITLE