Concise Minutes – Committee on Assembly Electoral

Reform

Meeting Venue:

Committee Room 4 – Tŷ Hywel

Meeting date: Monday, 25 November

2019

Meeting time: 10.15 - 11.56

Private

Attendance

Category	Names
Assembly Members:	Dawn Bowden AM (Chair)
	Huw Irranca-Davies AM
	Delyth Jewell AM
	David J Rowlands AM
Witnesses:	Michela Palese, Electoral Reform Society
	Ian Simpson, Electoral Reform Society
Committee Staff:	Helen Finlayson (Clerk)
	Stephen Aldhouse (Second Clerk)
	Sian Giddins (Deputy Clerk)
	Rhayna Mann (Head of Citizen Engagement)
	Kevin Davies (Head of Public Engagement)
	Gareth Pembridge (Legal Adviser)
	Martin Jennings (Researcher)



1 Introductions, apologies, substitutions and declarations of interest

1.1 The Chair welcomed Members to the meeting; there were no apologies.

2 Public engagement strategy

2.1 The Committee considered its public engagement strategy and agreed to return to the issue at its next meeting.

3 Forward work programme

3.1 The Committee considered its forward work programme and agreed to return to the issue at its next meeting.

4 Technical briefing on electoral systems

- 4.1 Apologies were received from Jess Blair.
- 4.2 The Committee received a technical briefing from Michela Palese and Ian Simpson of the Electoral Reform Society.