Concise Minutes - Culture, Welsh Language and Communications Committee

Meeting Venue:

External Location - External

Meeting date: Thursday, 6 December 2018

Meeting time: 10.00 - 12.00
This meeting can be viewed
on Senedd TV at:

Aberystwyth Arts Centre





Assembly Members:

Bethan Sayed AM (Chair)

Dai Lloyd AM

David Melding AM

Rhianon Passmore AM

Jenny Rathbone AM


Helgard Krause, Welsh Books Council

Professor M. Wynn Thomas, Welsh Books Council

Rhodri Glyn Thomas, National Library of Wales

Linda Tomos, CyMAL Library Development Team

Committee Staff:

Steve George (Clerk)

Adam Vaughan (Deputy Clerk)

Robin Wilkinson (Researcher)



1       Introductions, apologies, substitutions and declarations of interest



2       Annual Scrutiny of National Library for Wales

The National Librarian agreed to provide the Committee with more details on the future costs of the National Broadcast Archive.



3       Scrutiny of the Welsh Books Council



4       Paper(s) to note

Members noted the papers.



4.1   Scrutiny of the Welsh Government Draft Budget 2019-20: Further information from the Minister for Culture, Tourism and Sport



4.2   Reply from the Arts Council of Wales: National Theatre Wales



4.3   Letter from the Chair of Petitions Committee: Change the National Curriculum and teach Welsh history, from a Welsh perspective, in our Primary, Secondary and Sixth form Schools



5       Motion under Standing Order 17.42(vi) to resolve to exclude the public from the meeting for the following business:



6       Private debrief

Members agreed to write to the Minister for Culture, Tourism and Sport to request further details on the funding application to the Heritage Lottery Fund on the National Broadcast Archive.





1.          FIELD_TITLE




2.          FIELD_TITLE














2.1          FIELD_TITLE





2.2          FIELD_TITLE