Concise Minutes - Committee for the Scrutiny of the First Minister

Meeting Venue:

Hybrid - Committee room 5 Tŷ Hywel and video conference via Zoom

Meeting date: Friday, 15 July 2022

Meeting time: 14.04 - 16.37
This meeting can be viewed
on Senedd TV at:






Members of the Senedd:

David Rees MS (Chair)

Paul Davies MS

Russell George MS

John Griffiths MS

Jenny Rathbone MS

Jack Sargeant MS

Peredur Owen Griffiths MS (In place of Llyr Gruffydd MS)


Mark Drakeford MS, First Minister of Wales

Gian Marco Currado, Welsh Government

Duncan Hamer, Welsh Government

Committee Staff:

Alun Davidson (Clerk)

Bethan Garwood (Deputy Clerk)

Božo Lugonja (Researcher)

Ben Stokes (Researcher)



1       Introductions, apologies and substitutions

The Chair, David Rees MS, welcomed Members and witnesses to the meeting. Apologies were received from Paul Davies MS and Llyr Gruffydd MS; Peredur Owen Griffiths MS substituted for Llyr. Jack Sargeant declared an interest as unpaid member of the 5G EDC board project consortium, led by Bangor University.



2       Economic strategy for coastal and rural communities

The Committee scrutinised the First Minister on policy relating to the economic strategy for coastal and rural communities.



3       Ministerial scrutiny session - Topical matters

Members asked the First Minister questions on topical matters.



4       Motion under Standing Order 17.42 to resolve to exclude the public from the meeting for the following business:

The motion was agreed.



5       Discussion of previous evidence sessions

The Committee discussed the evidence from the meeting.



6       Discussion of future meetings

The Committee discussed the dates and venues for future meetings.





1.          FIELD_TITLE




2.          FIELD_TITLE














2.1          FIELD_TITLE





2.2          FIELD_TITLE