# **Sustainability Committee**

# Minutes (SC(3)-15-09)

Date: 21 July 2009 Time: 10:30 - 12:00 Venue: National Assembly for Wales Stand, Royal Welsh Showground

## Assembly Members in Attendance

Mick Bates (Chair), Montgomeryshire Alun Davies, Mid and West Wales Angela Burns, Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire Brynle Williams, North Wales Leanne Wood, South Wales Central

#### **Committee Service**

Virginia Hawkins, Clerk Meriel Singleton, Deputy Clerk

#### **Others in Attendance**

Professor Andrew Church, University of Brighton

Dr John Powell, University of Gloucestershire

#### Item 1: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions

1.1 The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting. Apologies were received from Lorraine Barrett, Lesley Griffiths, Rhodri Glyn Thomas and Karen Sinclair.

#### Item 2: Inquiry into Access to Inland Water: Evidence Session

2.1 The Chair welcomed Professor Andrew Church and Dr John Powell to the meeting and invited them to each make a presentation. The Committee questioned the witnesses.

## Item 3: Draft Flood and Water Management Bill : Agreement of Report

3.1 Subject to the amendments discussed in Committee being made, the report was agreed.

#### Item 4: Paper to Note

4.1 The Committee noted the correspondence from the Minister on the Draft Flood and Water Management Bill.