# **Sustainability Committee**

# Minutes (SC(3)-12-09)

Date: 24 June 2009 Time: 9:00 - 11:15

Venue: Committee Room 3, Senedd

#### **Assembly Members in Attendance**

Mick Bates (Chair), Montgomeryshire
Lorraine Barrett, Cardiff South and Penarth
Alun Davies, Mid and West Wales
Lesley Griffiths, Wrexham
Angela Burns, Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire
Darren Millar, Clwyd West
Rhodri Glyn Thomas, Carmarthen East and Dinefwr
Leanne Wood. South Wales Central

#### **Committee Service**

Virginia Hawkins, Clerk Meriel Singleton, Deputy Clerk

#### **Others in Attendance**

Jane Davidson, Minister for Environment, Sustainability and Housing Claire Bennett, Welsh Assembly Government Peter Jones, Welsh Assembly Government Olwen Minney, Welsh Assembly Government Justin Jacobs, Association of British Insurers Arthur Philp, Association of British Insurers

## **Item 1: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions**

1.1 The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting. Apologies were received from Brynle Williams and Karen Sinclair. Darren Millar substituted for Brynle Williams.

## Item 2: Draft Flood and Water Management Bill: Evidence Session

- 2.1 The Chair welcomed Jane Davidson and her officials to the meeting and invited her to make some opening remarks. Members questioned the Minister.
- 2.2 The Minister agreed to clarify the position on whether any Parliamentary functions were being transferred to the Welsh Ministers instead of the National Assembly for Wales

#### Item 3: Inquiry into Flooding: Evidence Session

3.1 The Chair welcomed Justin Jacobs and Arthur Philip to the meeting. Members questioned the witnesses.

# Item 4: Inquiry into Access to Inland Water: Discussion of Scope and Objectives

4.1 The Committee agreed the scoping paper

#### **Item 5: Papers to Note**

5.1 The Committee noted the Committee Forward Work Programme and the written responses to the Draft Flood and Water Management Bill.