Sustainability Committee

Minutes (SC(3)-11-09)

Date: 10 June 2009 Time: 9:00 - 11:15 Venue: Committee Room 3, Senedd

Assembly Members in Attendance

Mick Bates (Chair), Montgomeryshire Alun Davies, Mid and West Wales Lesley Griffiths, Wrexham Angela Burns, Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire Brynle Williams, North Wales Rhodri Glyn Thomas, Carmarthen East and Dinefwr Leanne Wood, South Wales Central

Committee Service

Virginia Hawkins, Clerk Meriel Singleton, Deputy Clerk

Others in Attendance

Ieuan Wyn Jones, Deputy First Minister and Minister for Economy and Transport Gareth Hall, Welsh Assembly Government James Price, Welsh Assembly Government Martin Stevenson, Welsh Assembly Government Steve Spode, Welsh Assembly Government Chris Mills, Environment Agency John Mosedale, Environment Agency Phil Rothwell, Environment Agency Nigel Annett, Welsh Water Chris Jones, Welsh Water

Item 1: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions

1.1 The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting. Apologies were received from Lorraine Barrett and Karen Sinclair.

Item 2: Mainstreaming Sustainability in Government Portfolios: Economy and Transport Evidence Session

2.1 The Chair welcomed leuan Wyn Jones and his officials to the meeting and invited them to make some opening remarks. Members questioned the minister.

2.2 The Minister agreed to provide further information on FS4B assistance and related sustainability issues; on methods for measuring sustainability and targets within the department; explanation of how small businesses are going to be supported to reduce emissions by 3% and a detailed budget break down on the suggested transport emission reduction proposals

2.3 The Chair agreed to write to the Minister on WelTAG

Item 3: Draft Flood and Water Management Bill: Evidence Session

3.1 The Chair welcomed Chris Mills, John Mosedale and Phil Rothwell to the meeting. Members questioned the witnesses.

3.2 The Committee agreed to write to the Minister for Environment, Sustainability and Housing about why the Welsh government had pursued the chosen method of pre-legislative scrutiny.

Item 4: Draft Flood and Water Management Bill: Evidence Session

4.1 The Chair welcomed Nigel Annetts and Chris Jones to the meeting. Members questioned the witnesses.

4.2 Nigel Annetts agreed to write to the Committee separately about the current legal proceedings Welsh Water were pursing on the case of the agenda.

4.3 The Committee agreed to write to the Minister for Environment, Sustainability and Housing about her position on the findings of the Cave Review.

4.4 The Committee agreed to write to Welsh Water with the questions not reached in Committee.

Item 5: Motion under Standing Order 10.37 to resolve to exclude the public from the meeting

5.1 The Chair moved a motion, under Standing Order 10.37(ix), to resolve to exclude the public from the meeting, to discuss matters relating to their internal business.

5.2 The Committee agreed to the motion

Item 6: Agreement of the Rural Development Sub-Committee's report on EID

6.1 The Committee agreed the Rural Development Sub-Committee report on EID.

Item 7: Papers to Note

7.1 The Committee noted the Committee Forward Work Programme and the correspondence from Brian Gibbons