### **Sustainability Committee**

### Minutes (SC(3)-10-07)

Date: 22 November 2007 Time: 9:30 - 12:30

Venue: Committee Room 3, Senedd, Cardiff Bay

#### **Assembly Members in Attendance**

Mick Bates (Chair), Montgomeryshire Lorraine Barrett, Cardiff South and Penarth Alun Davies, Mid and West Wales Alun Ffred Jones, Arfon Lesley Griffiths, Wrexham Darren Millar, Clwyd West Karen Sinclair, Clwyd South Brynle Williams, North Wales Leanne Wood, South Wales Central

#### **Committee Service**

Virginia Hawkins, Clerk Joanne Clinton, Deputy Clerk

#### Others in attendance

Lynn Sloman, Vice Chair, Commission for Integrated Transport Professor Stuart Cole, Wales Transport Research Centre Lee Waters, National Director for Wales, SUSTRANS Peter Lipman, Director of Low Carbon Travel, SUSTRANS

#### **Item 1: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions**

1.1 The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting.

## Item 2: Inquiry into carbon reduction in Wales Paper: SC(3)-10-07 (p.1)

2.1 The Chair welcomed Lynn Sloman from the Commission for Integrated Transport to the meeting and invited her to introduce her written submission. The Chair invited comments and questions from Members.

#### Paper: SC(3)-10-07 (p.2)

2.2 The Chair welcomed Professor Stuart Cole from the Wales Transport Research Centre to the meeting and invited him to introduce his written submission. The Chair invited comments and questions from Members.

# Item 3: Inquiry into carbon reduction in Wales Paper: SC(3)-10-07 (p.3)

3.1 The planned video-link was abandoned due to technical difficulties.

#### Paper: SC(3)-10-07 (p.4)

3.2 The Chair welcomed Lee Waters and Peter Lipman from Sustrans to the meeting and invited them to introduce their written submission. The Chair invited comments and questions from Members.