Sustainability Committee

Minutes (SC(3)-06-10)

Date: 25 February 2010 Time: 13:00 - 15:00

Venue: Committee Room 3, Senedd

Assembly Members in Attendance

Mike German, South Wales East Lorraine Barrett, Cardiff South and Penarth Joyce Watson, Mid and West Wales Rhodri Glyn Thomas, Carmarthern East and Dinefwr Leanne Wood, South Wales Central Brynle Williams, North Wales

Committee Service

Meriel Singleton, Clerk Aled Elwyn Jones, Deputy Clerk

Others in Attendance

Chris Mills, Environment Agency Wales Ceri Davies, Environment Agency Wales

Item 1: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions

1.1 The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting. Apologies were received from Angela Burns, Irene James and Karen Sinclair.

Item 2: Scrutiny of the Assembly Government Sponsored Bodies: Environment Agency

- 2.1 The Chair welcomed Chris Mills and Ceri Davies to the meeting and invited them to make some opening remarks. Members questioned the witnesses.
- 2.2 The witnesses agreed to provide the following information:

Confirmation of the percentages spend on different areas of responsibility within the Environment Agency Wales

Further information on the implementation of the Carbon Reduction Commitment energy efficiency scheme, in particular with regards to the emission data for UK-wide businesses.

Item 3: Papers to Note

The Committee noted the following papers:

Sustainability Committee timetable

Letter from Minister for Environment, Sustainability and Housing on Access to Inland Water.