## **Sustainability Committee**

### Minutes (SC(3)-06-08)

Date: 13 March 2008 Time: 9:00 - 9:20 Venue: Committee Room 3

#### **Assembly Members in Attendance**

Mick Bates (Chair), Montgomeryshire Lorraine Barrett, Cardiff South and Penarth Jeff Cuthbert, Caerphilly Alun Davies, Mid and West Wales Lesley Griffiths, Wrexham Alun Ffred Jones, Arfon Darren Millar, Clwyd West Leanne Wood, South Wales Central

#### **Committee Service**

Virginia Hawkins, Clerk Joanne Clinton, Deputy Clerk

#### Item 1: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions

1.1 The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting. Apologies were received from Brynle Williams and Karen Sinclair. Jeff Cuthbert attended as a substitute for Karen Sinclair.

# Item 2: Consideration of correspondence on the energy pricing structure in Wales Paper: SC(3)-06-08 (p1)

2.1 The Chair invited Members to comment on correspondence received from the Energy Retail Association, the Energy Networks Association, Centrica plc and energywatch Wales, in response to the Committee's invitation to attend an evidence session on the energy pricing structure in Wales.

2.2 The Committee agreed to invite energy companies currently operating in Wales to attend a future meeting to discuss their efforts in combating fuel poverty in Wales. The Committee also agreed to write to Ofgem asking it to fully consider the Welsh dimension within the context of its current review of the regulatory regime for energy networks.

2.3 The Committee further agreed to take legal advice on compelling witnesses to attend Committee meetings and to consider holding a joint evidence session with the Welsh Affairs Committee.