# **Sustainability Committee**

# Minutes (SC(3)-05-10)

Date: 11 February 2010 Time: 13:00 - 15:00

Venue: Committee Room 3, Senedd

#### **Assembly Members in Attendance**

Mike German, South Wales East Lorraine Barrett, Cardiff South and Penarth Joyce Watson, Mid and West Wales Rhodri Glyn Thomas, Carmarthern East and Dinefwr Leanne Wood, South Wales Central Angela Burns, Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire Brynle Williams, North Wales

#### **Committee Service**

Virginia Hawkins, Clerk Meriel Singleton, Deputy Clerk

#### **Others in Attendance**

John Lloyd Jones, Countryside Council for Wales Roger Thomas, Countryside Council for Wales

#### **Item 1: Election of New Chair**

1.1 The Clerk requested nominations for Chair. Mike German was nominated and elected.

#### **Item 2: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions**

2.1 The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting. Apologies were received from Irene James and Karen Sinclair.

### Item 3: Election of a New Member to the Rural Development Sub-Committee

3.1 The Chair asked for nominations for the membership to the Rural Development Sub-Committee. Mike German was nominated and elected to the Rural Development Sub-Committee.

## Item 4: Scrutiny of the Assembly Government Sponsored Bodies: Countryside Council for Wales

- 4.1 The Chair welcomed John Lloyd Jones and Roger Thomas to the meeting and invited them to make some opening remarks. Members questioned the witnesses.
- 4.2 The witnesses agreed to provide the following information:

The definition of running costs and programme costs that CCW utilises;

The proportion of CCW activities which are driven by the Government's agenda rather than by the CCW statutory duty;

The areas where CCW work closely/shared resources with other agencies and where CCW think they could work more closely with other agencies;

Which indicators within the Sustainable Development Scheme CCW work to.