# **Sustainability Committee**

# Minutes (SC(3)-01-10)

Date: 11 January 2010 Time: 17:15 - 18:00

Venue: Committee Room 3, Senedd

### **Assembly Members in Attendance**

Mick Bates (Chair), Montgomeryshire Alun Davies, Mid and West Wales Joyce Watson, Mid and West Wales Rhodri Glyn Thomas, Carmarthern East and Dinefwr Leanne Wood, South Wales Central Brynle Williams, North Wales

#### **Committee Service**

Virginia Hawkins, Clerk Meriel Singleton, Deputy Clerk

#### Others in Attendance

Jane Davidson, Minister for Environment, Sustainability and Housing

# **Item 1: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions**

1.1 The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting. Apologies were received from Lorraine Barrett, Lesley Griffiths, Angela Burns and Karen Sinclair.

## **Item 2: National Policy Statements**

- 2.1 The Chair welcomed Jane Davidson and Ron Loveland to the meeting and invited the Minister to make some opening remarks. The Committee questioned the Minister.
- 2.2 The Minister agreed to provide the following information:

A note outlining the responsibilities around the transport of nuclear waste

A note outlining the appointment of Welsh members to the IPC and subsequent panels