Rural Development Sub-committee

Minutes (RDC(3)-03-07)

Date: 20 September 2007 Time: 9.45 - 12.30

Venue: Committee Room 3, Senedd, Cardiff Bay

Assembly Members in Attendance

Alun Davies (Chair), Mid and West Wales Lorraine Barrett, Cardiff South and Penarth Mick Bates, Montgomeryshire Alan Ffred Jones, Arfon Brynle Williams, North Wales

Committee Service

Virginia Hawkins, Clerk Joanne Clinton, Deputy Clerk

Others in Attendance

Rob Atkinson, Wildlife Department, RSPCA Wales John Avizienius, Farm Animals Department, RSPCA Wales Steve Clark, Chair, Gwent Badger Group Trevor Lawson, Public Affairs Adviser, Badger Trust Professor John Bourne, Chair, Independent Scientific Group

Item 1: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions

1.1 The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Item 2: Inquiry into TB in Wales Paper: SC(3)-03-07(p.1)

- 2.1 The Chair welcomed Rob Atkinson and John Avizienius to the meeting. Rob Atkinson gave a brief outline of the RSPCA Wales briefing paper on TB in Wales. The Committee questioned the witnesses.
- 2.2 The witnesses agreed to provide the Committee with examples of bio-security measures which could be adopted by farmers, together with details of the number of animals put down by the RSPCA for animal welfare reasons each year.

Paper: SC(3)-03-07(p.2)

2.3 The Chair welcomed Steve Clark and Trevor Lawson to the meeting. Steve Clark gave a brief outline of the Badger Trust briefing paper on TB in Wales. The Committee questioned the witnesses.

Item 3: Inquiry into TB in Wales

3.1 The Chair welcomed Professor John Bourne to the meeting. Professor Bourne highlighted key issues raised in the final report of the Independent Scientific Report on Bovine TB. The Committee questioned the witness.

Item 4: Letter from the Minister for Rural Affairs on Foot and Mouth.

4.1 The Committee noted a letter from the Minister for Rural Affairs on Foot and Mouth and agreed to monitor developments. The Committee further agreed that any future work in this area should be undertaken jointly with the Finance Committee.