COMMITTEE ON EUROPEAN AFFAIRS

Date	Thursday 14 October 1999
Time	9.30am
Venue	Committee Room 1, National Assembly Building

REPORT ON THE WALES FORUM ON EUROPEAN AFFAIRS

Purpose

1. To inform committee members of the forthcoming conference.

Recommendation

2. The Committee is invited to note the content of the report.

Summary

3. The first meeting of the Wales Forum on European Affairs is due to take place on Friday, 22nd October at the Cardiff International Arena.

Background

4. At the first meeting of the European Affairs Committee on 1st July, it was agreed that a Wales Forum on European Affairs should be established. It was agreed that the Forum should be exploratory and interactive in nature and include people working at a grass roots level in Wales. It was also agreed that the first meeting of the Forum should be a conference, providing for a mix of plenary sessions and workshops and that it should be held in the Autumn. Agreement reached at the European Affairs Committee meeting was that membership of the Forum should comprise a "floating" membership with a few core members. Attached at Annex A is the outline programme for the day; at Annex B is a list of those who have been invited to attend.

Compliance

5. Section 40 of the Government of Wales Act provides for the Assembly to do anything which is calculated to facilitate it's functions

Financial Implications

6. Financial provision for this conference can be found from existing running cost budgets.

Cross-cutting Themes

7. A wide range of partners from the public, private and voluntary sectors will participate in the Forum.

Contact Point

8. European Affairs Division

Annex A

Wales Forum on European Affairs - Programme

Date : Friday 22 October 1999

Venue : Cardiff International Arena

- 9.30-10am Coffee and registration
- 10.00 10.10am **Opening address** (First Secretary)
- 10.10 10.50am Plenary session :

Prospects for the new Commission and the implications for Wales

(Neil Kinnock)

10.50-11.10am	Coffee
11.10 – 12.15pm	 Working Groups on European Policies: Transport/Trans European Networks – Hugh Rees, European Commission DGVII State Aid – Richard Jacques, UKREP Mainstreaming Equal Opportunities – Val Feld
12.15 – 13.00pm	Working Groups report back
13.00 - 14.00pm	Lunch
14.00 - 15.00pm	 Working Groups : Theme – Welsh participation in Europe The work of the European Parliament (Eluned Morgan MEP) The Committee of the Regions and ECOSOC (Eurig Wyn and George Wright) Welsh Representation in Brussels - (Jos Gallacher and June Milligan)
15.00 - 15.45pm	Working Groups report back
15.00 - 15.45pm 15.45 - 16.00pm	Working Groups report back Closing remarks (First Secretary)

Invitation list for Wales European Forum

Assembly European Committee:

Rt Hon Alun Michael MP AM

Nick Bourne AM

Christine Gwyther AM

Val Feld AM

Rhodri Morgan MP AM

Alun Pugh AM

Elin Jones AM

Rhodri Glyn Thomas AM

Prof Phil Williams AM

Mick Bates AM

William Graham AM

Local Government

Welsh Local Government Association: Dr Victoria Winckler

Welsh Local Government Association: Harry Jones

Welsh Local Government Association: Colin Jones

Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council: Roger Leadbeter OBE

Bridgend County Borough Council: I Keri Lewis

Caerphilly County Borough Council: Malgwyn Davies Cardiff County Council: Byron Davies Cardiff County Council: Jeff Andrews Carmarthen County Council: Bradley P Roynon Ceredigion County Council: Owen Watkin Conwy County Borough Council: C Derek Barker Denbighshire County Council: Huw Vaughan Thomas Flintshire County Council: Phillip McGreevy Gwynedd Council: Geraint R Jones Isle of Anglesey Council: Geraint F Edwards Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council: Garry W Meredith Monmouthshire County Council: Joyce Redfearn Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council: Ken R Sawyers Newport County Borough Council: R D "Sandy" Blair Pembrokeshire County Council: Bryn Parry-Jones Powys County Council: Jacky Tonge Rhondda Cynon Taff County Borough Council: Kim Ryley Swansea Council: Vivienne Sugar Torfaen County Borough Council: Dr Clive Grace Vale of Glamorgan Council: David L Foster

Economic Forums

Mid Wales Partnership: D M Thomas

North Wales Economic Forum: Meurig Royles

South West Wales Economic Forum: Richard Crawshaw

South East Wales Economic Forum: Brian Adcock

Non Departmental Public Bodies

Welsh Development Agency: David Rowe Beddoe Welsh Development Agency: Brian Willott Welsh Development Agency: Geraint Davies Welsh Development Agency: Graham Moore Welsh Development Agency: Wynford James Welsh Development Agency: Geoff Sheppard Wales Tourist Board: Jonathon Jones Countryside Council for Wales: Paul Loveluck Arts Council for Wales: Joanna Weston Welsh Language Board: Jon Walter Jones Environment Agency Wales: Ed Gallagher

Public Sector

Council of Welsh TECs: Carl Hadley OBE

Higher Education Funding Council for Wales/Further Education Funding Council: Prof John Andrews

- HHEW: Prof Robin Williams
- Fforwm: John Stephenson
- University of Glamorgan: Prof Adrian Webb
- University of Glamorgan: Dr Carol Cresswell
- West Wales European Centre: Neville Davies
- Wales European Centre: Jos Gallacher
- EC Representation in Wales: Catherine Eva
- Wales European Programme Executive Ltd: Christopher Ward
- Wales Co-operative Centre: Simon Jones
- **Employment Service: Sheila Keays**

Private Sector

- Wales CBI: Ken Jones
- Wales CBI: Dr Elizabeth Haywood
- Federation of Small Businesses: George Watson
- National Farmers Union: Hugh Richards
- Farmers Union of Wales: Bob Parry
- Country Landowners Association: J M G Andrews
- Cardiff Chamber of Commerce: Helen Conway

British Telecom: Ann Beynon

- NTL Cabletel: Chris Bannister
- HYDER: Jeff Morgan
- National GRID: Shaun McGrail
- TRANSCO: John Adams
- MANWEB: Mike Boxall
- Chamber Wales: Mike Theodoulu
- Institute of Directors: Roger Jones
- House Building Federation: Mark Rice
- Freight Transport Association: Maurice Watkins
- HTV: Menna Richards
- S4C: Huw Jones
- **BBC** Wales: Geraint Talfan Davies
- Euroclad: Nick Williams
- Epitaxial Products International Ltd: Mike Scott
- Calsonic International Europe plc, Llanelli: M J Reilly OBE

Trade Unions

- Wales TUC: David Jenkins
- Transport and General Workers Union: Jim Hancock
- GMB: Allan J Garley

ISTC: Alwyn Jones

AEEU: Roger James

Banks

Bank of England: Sue Camper

HSBC: Elfed Roberts

Natwest Bank: Richard Weston

Co-operative Bank: John Summers

Principality Building Society: John Mitchell

Voluntary sectors

Wales Council for Voluntary Action: Graham Benfield

Wales Council for Voluntary Action: Margery Dykins

LEADER (SPARC): Joan Asby

Institute of Welsh Affairs: John Osmond

Equal Opportunities Commission: Mary Dunford

Commission for Racial Equality: Andrew Housley

Disability Wales: Howard John

DOVE Workshop: Mair Francis

Wales Youth Agency: Roy Noble

Race Equality First: Jazz Iheanacho

Personal

Hywel Ceri Jones

Wayne David

Welsh Representatives

Welsh MEPs:

Jill Evans MEP

Jonathan Evans MEP

Glenys Kinnock MEP

Eluned Morgan MEP

Eurig Wyn MEP

Committee of the Regions (COR):

Cllr Brian Smith

Eurig Wyn

Linda Matthews

John Evans

ECOSOC:

George Wright

Prof Rose D'Sa

National Assembly for Wales

Jon Shortridge

Derek Jones

Michael Cochlin

Hugh Rawlings

Alan Lansdown

Martin Evans

Steve Phillips

Kate Cassidy

John Clarke (on secondment from Barclays Bank)

Caroline Turner

Margaret Dineen

Yvonne Pope

Emma Roberts