Proposed Healthy Eating in Schools Measure Committee

Minutes (HES(3)-05-08)

Meeting date: Tuesday 17 June 2008 Meeting time: 9.30 - 10.50am Meeting venue: Committee Room 3

Assembly Members in Attendance
Jeff Cuthbert AM, Caerphilly
Andrew R T Davies AM, South Wales Central
Irene James AM, Islwyn
Dai Lloyd AM, South Wales West
Kirsty Williams AM (Chair), Brecon and Radnorshire

Legislation Office

Liz Wilkinson, Clerk Siân Wilkins, Clerk Ruth Hatton, Deputy Clerk

Others in Attendance

Joanest Jackson, Legal Advisor

Witnesses

Iwan Guy, Acting Director NAHT Cymru Richard Edwards, Secretary NAHT Cymru Elaine Edwards, Policy Officer, UCAC Gruff Hughes, General Secretary, UCAC Hugh Pattrick, Chair, Governors Wales Allan Tait, Secretary, Governors Wales Jane Morris, Acting Director, Governors Wales

Item 1: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions

- 1.1 The Chair welcomed Committee Members, members of the public to the meeting.
- 1.2 Apologies were received from Angela Burns AM for whom Andrew R T Davies AM substituted.

Item 2: Proposed Healthy Eating in Schools (Wales) Measure 2008

2.1 The Committee took oral evidence from Iwan Guy and Richard Edwards of the National Association of Head Teachers Cymru; Elaine Edwards and Gruff Hughes of the National Union of Teachers in Wales (UCAC); and Hugh Pattrick, Allan Tait and Jane Morris of Governors Wales.