# **European and External Affairs Committee**

# Minutes (EUR(3)-10-08)

Date: 13 November 2008 Time: 13:30 - 14:29 Venue: Committee Room 2, Senedd

### **Assembly Members in Attendance**

Sandy Mewies, Delyn Constituency (Chair) Jeff Cuthbert, Caerphilly Constituency Nerys Evans, Mid and West Wales Constituency Mike German, South Wales East Constituency William Graham, South East Wales Constituency

#### **Committee Service**

Stefan Sanchez, Clerk Annette Millett, Deputy Clerk

#### **Committee Specialists**

Gregg Jones, MRS

Gwyn Griffiths, Legal Advisor

Andy Klom, Head of European Commission in Wales

# **Others in Attendance**

Rhodri Morgan, First Minister

Gary Davies, Head of European and External Affairs Division

Rory O'Sullivan, Head of Countryside Policy Division

Philip Bird, Head of EU Policy Secretariat

#### 1: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions

1.1 The Chair welcomed Committee members and members of the public.

#### 2: Scrutiny Session of the First Minister

Paper: EUR(3)-10-08 - Paper 1

2.1 The First Minister responded to questions.

## **Action Point:**

First Minister agreed to send a note to Committee with regard to the working time directive, opt out date.

#### Papers to Note:

#### Summary of House of Commons - European Scrutiny Committe

#### Minutes of the last meeting

Paper: EUR(3)-09-08

The Committee agreed the minutes of the 23 October 2008 meeting.

**Committee Service** 

November 2008