European and External Affairs Committee

Minutes (EUR(3)-07-08)

Date: 25th September 2008 Time: 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Venue: Committee Room 2, Senedd

Assembly Members in Attendance

Sandy Mewies, Delyn (Chair) Nerys Evans, Mid and West Wales Michael German, South Wales East Brynle Williams, North Wales

Committee Service

Stefan Sanchez, Clerk Annette Millett, Deputy Clerk

Committee Specialists

Greg Jones, Head of Wales EU Office Graham Winter, Members Research Service

Others in Attendance

Rod Williams, Countryside Council for Wales Member Brian Pawson, Senior Land Use Policy Member Dai Davies, President, NFU Cymru Mary James, Director, NFU Cymru Gareth Vaughan, President, FUW Dr Nick Fenwick, FUW Director of Agricultural Policy

1: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions

- 1.1 The Chair welcomed Committee Members and members of the public.
- 1.2 Apologies had been received from Jeff Cuthbert, William Graham for whom Brynle Williams was substituting.
- 1.3 The Chair would also like to convey her thanks to the outgoing Clerk Kathryn Jenkins.

2: Common Agricultural Policy health check

Papers: EUR(3) 07-08 - Paper 1, EUR(3) 07-08 - Paper 2, EUR(3) 07-08 - Paper 3

- 2.1 The Committee welcomed Rod Williams, Countryside Council for Wales Member and Brian Pawson, Senior Land Use Policy Officer, Dai Davies, President, NFU Cymru, Mary James, Director, NFU Cymru, Gareth Vaughan, President, FUW and Dr Nick Fenwick, FUW Director of Agricultural Policy.
- 2.2 The Witnesses responded to questions from the Committee.

Action point

Countryside Council for Wales to provide:

The IAASTD International Assessment for Agricultural Knowledge and Science Transfer Development Report.

Paper to Note:

Minutes of the last meeting

Paper: EUR(3)-06-08

The Committee ratified the minutes of the 17 July 2008 meeting.

Committee Service

September 2008