European and External Affairs Committee

Minutes (EUR(3) 06-08)

Date: 17 July 2008 Time: 9.00am - 10.40am

Venue: Committee Room 2, Senedd

Assembly Members in Attendance

Christine Chapman, Cynon Valley (Chair) Jeff Cuthbert, Caerphilly Nerys Evans, Mid and West Wales Michael German, South Wales East William Graham, South Wales East

Committee Service

Kathryn Jenkins, Clerk Michael Lewis, Deputy Clerk

Others in Attendance

Gretel Leeb, Director of Programme Management, WEFO
Cathy Presland, Director of Planning and Strategy, WEFO
Rosemary Butler AM, Deputy Presiding Officer, National Assembly for Wales
Robert Lloyd-Williams, International Relations Officer
Elin Jones AM, Minister for Rural Affairs
Rory O'Sullivan, Head of Countryside Policy Division
Andy Klom, Head of European Commission office in Wales

1: Election of temporary Committee Chair

1.1 The Clerk requested nominations for a temporary Committee Chair under Standing Order 10.19. William Graham and Jeff Cuthbert nominated Christine Chapman, who was duly elected.

2: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions

2.1 The Chair welcomed Committee Members and members of the public.

3: The All Wales Programme Monitoring Committee Paper: EUR(3) 06-08 - Paper 1

- 3.1 Jeff Cuthbert updated the Committee on the work of the All Wales Programme Monitoring Committee (PMC).
- 3.2 Members scrutinised Jeff Cuthbert and officials from the Welsh European Funding Office (WEFO).

4: Update on the British-Irish Interparliamentary Body Paper: EUR(3) 06-08 - Paper 2

- 4.1 The Deputy Presiding Officer updated the Committee on the work of the British-Irish Inter-Parliamentary Body (BIIPB).
- 4.2 Members questioned the Deputy Presiding Officer on the work and future role of the (BIIPB).

5: Common Agricultural Policy health check Paper: EUR(3) 06-08 - Paper 3

- 5.1 The Committee welcomed Elin Jones, the Minister for Rural Affairs; and Rory O'Sullivan, Head of Countryside Policy Division.
- 5.2 The Committee scrutinised the Minister on the Welsh Assembly Government consultation on the Common Agricultural Policy health check

Papers to note:

Scoping paper and terms of reference for the Committee's forthcoming inquiry into subsidiarity Paper: EUR(3) 06-08 - Paper 4

The Committee agreed to proceed with its inquiry on subsidiarity in the autumn.

Report of the meeting of the UK European Committee Chairs and Clerks forum

Paper: EUR(3) 06-08 - Paper 5

WLGA written report on the Committee of Regions

Paper: EUR(3) 06-08 - Paper 6

Minutes of the last meeting Paper: EUR(3) 05-08 - Minutes

The Committee ratified the minutes of the 19 June meeting.

Committee Service July 2008