# **European and External Affairs Committee**

## Minutes (EUR(3)-01-08)

Meeting date: 7th February 2008 Meeting time: 1.30pm - 2.57pm

Meeting venue: Committee Room 2, National Assembly for Wales

#### **Assembly Members in Attendance**

Sandy Mewies, Delyn (Chair)
Nicholas Bourne, Mid & West Wales
Christine Chapman, Cynon Valley
Jeff Cuthbert, Caerphilly
Nerys Evans, Mid and West Wales
Mike German, South Wales East
William Graham, South Wales East
Val Lloyd, Swansea East
Gareth Jones, Arberconwy

#### **Committee Service**

Chris Reading, Clerk Sarah Bartlett, Deputy Clerk

#### **Others in Attendance**

His Excellency Mr Iztok Mirošič - Ambassador of the Republic of Slovenia Andreja Viher - Embassy of the Republic of Slovenia Andy Klom, Head of European Commission Office in Wales

### **Item 1: Introduction, Apologies and Substitutions**

- 1.1 The Chair welcomed Committee Members and members of the public.
- 1.2 Jonathan Evans MEP, Jill Evans MEP, Glenys Kinnock MEP and Eluned Morgan MEP sent their apologies.
- 1.3 The Chair thanked Anna Daniel for her work with the Committee and wished every success in her new role.

#### **Item 2: EU Presidency Briefing**

2.1 His Excellency responded to Members questions.

### Item 3: European Commission Legislative and Work Programme 2008

- 3.1 The Members discussed the Commission's work programme
- 3.2 They agreed to focus on the implications of the Reform Treaty for the National Assembly for Wales in relation to the principle of subsidiarity and proportionality; the future of regional policy within the framework of the consultation of the EU Budget Review; Common Agricultural Policy 'Health Check' and the implementation of the Lisbon Strategy.

#### **Actions**

The Chair agreed to write to the Chair's of the other scrutiny and mandatory Committee's identifying items in the work programme within their portfolio that they might wish to consider in their respective committee's.