## THOSE WITH WHOM DISCUSSIONS WERE HELD

(In many cases with organisations, discussions with many more than those listed took place – the most senior are listed. I am very grateful to all those who found time to see me, whether listed here or not)

Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales		Professor Ralph Griffiths, Chair	
Theterioa Monamente er Traice		Peter White, Secretary	
Ancient Monuments Board for Wales	-	Professor Rees Davies, Chair	
Historic Buildings Council for Wales	-	Tom Lloyd, Chair	
National Trust	-	Peter Broomhead, Director (Wales)	
National Museums and Galleries of Wales	-	Anna Southall, Director	
		Eirwyn Wiliam, Deputy Director	
Welsh Local Government Association	-	Sandy Blair, Director	
Wales Tourist Board	-	Steve Webb, Director of Strategy	
		Roger Pride, International Director	
		Dewi Davies, Regional Strategic Director (North Wales)	
		Peter Cole, Regional Strategic Director (South East Wales)	
Countryside Council for Wales	-	John Taylor, Director of Policy	
		Richard Kelly, Historic Environment Officer	
Wales Association of Visitor Attractions	-	Ian Rutherford, Chair	
Welsh Development Agency	-	Andrew Dakin, Area Devpt Manager, SE Wales	
Clwyd Powys Archaeological Trust	-	Bill Britnell, Director	
Gwynedd Archaeological Trust	-	David Longley, Director	
Glamorgan Gwent Archaeological Trust	-	Gareth Dowdell , Director	
Dyfed Archaeological Trust	-	Gwilym Hughes, Director	

Conwy Borough Council -	Tim Manson, Asst Director Culture and Tourism		
Denbighshire County Council -	Phil Ebbrell, Conservation Architect		
Wrexham Borough Council -	Steve Grenter, Head of Heritage		
	Karina Kucharski, Borough Archaeologist		
Bridgend Borough Council -	Neil Sumner, Conservation Architect		
Vale of Glamorgan Borough Council -	Nick Lloyd, Conservation Officer		
Heritage Lottery Fund -	Judy Cligman, Director, Policy		
	Steven Johnson, Director, Operations		
	Jennifer Stewart, Manager (Wales)		
DCMS -	Clare Pillman, Head of Heritage Division		
	Paul Alsey,		
	Dawn Austwick, Consultant on the Quinquennial Review of English Heritage		
DTLR -	Robert John		
Historic Scotland -	Graeme Munro, Chief Executive		
	Frank Lawrie, Director of Policy		
	David Breeze, Director of Conservation		
	John Barber, Strategy Branch		
	Dorothy Wusterman, Strategy Branch		
	Jenny Hess, Head of Marketing		
	Marion Fry , Head of Education		
	Joan Parr , Education Officer , Edinburgh Castle		

English Heritage		Oliver Pearcey
		Rowan Whimster
		Mike Curbishley, Head of Education
		Sally Embree
		Russell Walters
Royal Commission on Ancient and Historical Monuments in Scotland	-	Roger Mercer, Secretary
National Monuments Record, English Heritage, Swindon	-	Nigel Clubb, Director
		Humphrey Welfare, Operations Director
Jan Wills	-	County Archaeologist, Gloucestershire County Council and Chair of the Association of Local Government Archaeological Officers.
Council for British Archaeology - Wales	-	Frances Lynch (Chair)
		Chris Musson (Deputy Chair)
John Pavitt	-	Secretary of a buildings presentation trust and a trustee of the Prince's Trust.
Trevor Thorpe	-	Chair, Institute of Historic Building Conservation (Wales)
Professor Geoffrey Wainwright	-	Cultural Resource Management Consultant, and Member of Royal Commissions on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales
Terry Evans and David Bick	-	Welsh Mines Preservation Trust
Welsh Assembly Government		
Minister for Environment, Planning and Transport		Sue Essex , AM

Cadw

- Tom Cassidy, Chief Executive

Richard Avent, Chief Inspector

Douglas Hogg, Chief Architect

Andrew Hood, Head of Presentation Branch

Jean Booker, Head of Policy and Administration Mial Watkins, Head of Cadwraeth Cymru

Jeff Jenkins, Head of Corporate Services

Peter Gerring, Head of Marketing

Assembly staff in a large number of divisions, especially Cadw; Planning Division; Arts, Lottery and Sport Division; Culture and Welsh Language Division;

Housing Division; Countryside Division