Equality of Opportunity Committee

Minutes : EOC(3)-08-10

This meeting can be viewed on Senedd TV at: www.senedd.tv/

Date Tuesday 8 June 2010 Time: 09.30 - 10.50 Venue: Committee Room 2, Senedd, National Assembly for Wales

Assembly Members in attendance

Ann Jones, Vale of Clwyd (Chair) Mohammad Asghar, South Wales East Eleanor Burnham, North Wales Dai Lloyd, South Wales West Joyce Watson, Mid and West Wales

Witnesses

Item 2 Ian Bullock, Arriva Trains Wales Michael Vaughan, Arriva Trains Wales Mike Goggin, Network Rail Gary Tordoff, Network Rail

Item 3 David Sindall, Association of Train Operating Companies

Committee Staff

Claire Morris, Clerk Catherine Hunt, Deputy Clerk Leon Gooberman, Members Research Service

Item 1: Introduction, Apologies, Substitutions and Declarations of Interest

1.1 The Chair welcomed Committee Members and members of the public.

1.2 Apologies were received from Janet Ryder. Dai Lloyd attended as a substitute.

Item 2: Inquiry into the Accessibility of Railway Stations - Oral Evidence from Arriva Trains Wales and Network Rail

Papers:

EOC(3)-08-10(p1) - Arriva Trains Wales

EOC(3)-08-10(p1a) - Arriva Trains Wales - Supplementary Paper

EOC(3)-08-10(p2) - Network Rail

2.1 The Committee took evidence from Arriva Trains Wales and Network Rail as part of their inquiry into the Accessibility of Railway Stations.

Item 3: Inquiry into the Accessibility of Railway Stations - Oral Evidence from the Association of Train Operating Companies (ATOC)

Paper: EOC(3)-08-10(p3)

3.1 The Committee took evidence from the Association of Train Operating Companies as part of their inquiry into the Accessibility of Railway Stations.

3.2 Mr Sindall agreed to provide additional information as requested by the Committee.

Action

Mr Sindall would provide the following additional information as requested by the Committee:

Information on audible announcements at stations and the accuracy of information available;

Information on the Disabled Persons Railcard.

4: Paper Noted

4.1 The Committee noted the following paper:

EOC(3)-06-10 Minutes of meeting held on 18 May 2010