# **Enterprise and Learning Committee**

## Minutes (EL(3) 19-08)

Date: 3 July 2008 Time: 13:30 - 15:30

Venue: Committee Room 3, Senedd

#### **Assembly Members in Attendance**

Gareth Jones, (Chair) Aberconwy Alun Cairns, South Wales Central Jeff Cuthbert, Caerphilly Huw Lewis, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney David Melding, South Wales Central Janet Ryder, North Wales Kirsty Williams, Brecon and Radnorshire

#### **Committee Service**

Dr Kathryn Jenkins, Clerk Daniel Collier, Deputy Clerk

#### **Committee Specialist**

Gareth Clubb, Members' Research Service

#### **Legal Advisers**

Gwyn Griffiths, Legal Services Susan Morgan, Legal Services

#### Others in Attendance

Lee Waters, Director, Sustrans Cymru Angharad Davies, Head of Public Affairs and Policy, BT Wales. Huw Roberts, Director of Welsh Affairs, Royal Mail Group

## 1: Introduction, apologies and substitutions

- 1.1 The Chair welcomed Committee Members and members of the public to the meeting.
- 1.2 Apologies had been received from Christine Chapman, Sandy Mewies, and Andrew RT Davies for whom Alun Cairns was substituting.

#### 2: Handling of Petitions

Papers: EL(3) 19-08 - Paper 1, Annex 1, EL(3) 19-08 - Paper 2

## **Proposed handling of petitions**

- 2.1 The Committee discussed proposals for handling of petitions.
- 2.2 The Committee would seek a meeting with the Minister for Children, Education, Life Long Learning and Skills to request that the she exercise her powers to bring about a name change for Ysgol Gartholwg/Rhydfelen.
- 2.3 The Committee endorsed the action of the Chair and agreed to support the work of the Rural Development Sub-Committee on the Powys Community Schools Action petition.
- 2.3 The Committee resolved to invite the petitioners and key stakeholders to provide evidence on the Pride in Barry petition at a formal Committee hearing to be held in Barry during the autumn term.
- 2.4 The Committee resolved to elect a rapporteur group to take evidence on the Fuel Prices petition and report its findings to the Committee. The Committee elected Janet Ryder, David Melding, Kirsty Williams; a Member from the Labour Group would be sought if possible.

#### Sustrans

2.5 The Committee welcomed Lee Waters, Director, Sustrans Cymru; Huw Roberts, Director of Welsh Affairs, Royal Mail Group; Angharad Davies, Head of Public Affairs and Policy, BT Wales.

- 2.6 The Committee scrutinised the witnesses on the petition to develop and maintain a network of traffic free shared use paths.
- 2.7 The Committee welcomed the proposals within the petition and following detailed discussion agreed to take forward a Legislative Competence Order to make provision for a legal framework to develop and maintain a network of traffic free shared use paths in Wales. The Committee would take further evidence before drafting legislation.

Private session

The Committee resolved to exclude the public from the remainder of the meeting in accordance with Standing Order 10.37(vi).

## 3: The Economic Contribution of Higher Education in Wales - emerging conclusions and recommendations

3.1 The Committee commented on the emerging conclusions and recommendations of the Committee's inquiry into the Economic Contribution of Higher Education in Wales.

## 4: Evaluation of Committee activity 2007-2008

4.1 The Committee evaluated its activities during the first year of the Third Assembly.

Paper to note:

Minutes of the last meeting Paper: EL(3) 18-08 - Minutes

The Committee ratified the minutes of the 19 June meeting.

Committee Service July 2008