Enterprise, Innovation and Networks Committee

EIN(2)-02-06(p.2)

Date: Thursday 18 May 2006

Venue: Committee Room 2, Senedd, Cardiff Bay

Title: Appointment of National Assembly for Wales Member to Rail

Passengers Council - paper to note

Background

- 1. On 14 March, a motion was passed in Plenary that delegated the appointment of a National Assembly for Wales Member to the Rail Passengers Council to the Economic Development and Transport Committee. At its meeting on 16 March, the Committee agreed to establish a subcommittee comprising the two Members who are the Committee's nominees on public appointments, Chris Gwyther and Janet Davies, to undertake this function.
- 2. A selection panel comprising Dave Thomas, Head of Rail Policy, Welsh Assembly Government; Colin Foxall, Chair of the Rail Passengers Council and Mary Robinson, Independent Assessor had met on 13 and 14 October 2005 and interviewed seven candidates.
- 3. The Public Appointments Unit and the Independent Assessor confirmed that the process had met the requirements of the Commissioner for Public Appointments Code of Practice.

Outcome

- 4. The sub-committee met on 3 April to consider the advice of the selection panel and supported their recommendation that Stella Mair Thomas should be invited to serve as a member of the Rail Passengers Council. Mrs Thomas took up her appointment on 1 May 2006 for a period of three years.
- 5. A press notice announcing the appointment was issued on 5 May.

Action

6. To note the actions of the sub-committee.

Chris Gwyther

Chair, Enterprise, Innovation and Networks Committee